Home > الرحلات

يتمتع فندق بالمستون ريتريت بموقع مثالي في منتصف الطريق بين كولومبو والمرتفعات الوسطى / نوارا إليا ، ويعتبر الفندق قاعدة مثالية لاستكشاف العديد من المعالم الهامة في سريلانكا مثل قمة جبل آدم و كاندي و نوراليا. الموقع المركزي لبالمستون ريتريت بالنسبة لهذه المعالم الرئيسية يعني أنك بينما تتمتع بالراحة في الإقامة الفاخرة  يمكنك أن يكون لديك تجربة ثرية لاستكشاف العديد من المناطق في البلاد .

قمة جبل آدم

تقع قمة آدم على بعد حوالي 60 كم (ساعة واحدة بالسيارة) إلى الجنوب من كيتولغالا ، وهو جبل يبلغ ارتفاعه 2243 متر و ذات أهمية دينية للبوذيين والهندوس والمسلمين والمسيحيين. ويقال إن اثر القدم العملاقة في الجزء العلوي من هذا الجبل المقدس (يشار إليها محليا باسم سري بادا) هي اثر قدم الاله بوذا  حسب اعتقاد البوذيين.

و في حوالي القرن الثامن ادعى المسلمون أنه أثر فدم النبي آدم الذي قيل أنه وضع أقدامه الأولى هنا بعد النزول من السماء ، في حين يقول الهندوس أن الأثر للاله شيفا. وبعد قرون ادعى البرتغاليون أنه ينتمي إلى سانت توماس . الآلاف من المصلين يصعدون قمة جبل آدم  بين ديسمبر و أبريل من كل عام كزيارة دينية من أجل اظهار احترامهم إلى اثر القدم المقدسة.

رحلة الصعود الى قمة جبل آدم بالنسبة لكثير من المسافرين هو أهم أمرأثناء إقامتهم في سري لانكا. يفضل محاولة تسلق الجبل في الليل حيث تواجه تحدي صعود أكثر من 5000 سلمه صخرية ، و يتم توجيهك من قبل الأضواء المتعرجة. والهدف من ذلك هو الوصول إلى القمة قبل الشروق لتشهد واحدة من أروع شروق الشمس في المنطقة.

كاندي

تقع مدينة كاندي على بعد حوالي 75 كم (1.5 ساعة بالسيارة) شمال كيتولغالا ، وهي منطقة أخرى تستحق الزيارة .

كاندي هي ثاني أكبر مدينة في سري لانكا ، و هي واحدة من أكثر المدن ذات المناظر الخلابة في الجزيرة مع التلال الرائعة و مزارع الشاي وحدائق التوابل ، وهي أيضا ذات أهمية ثقافية وتاريخية ودينية و كانت آخر عاصمة للمملكة السنهالية القديمة قبل الحكم الاستعماري ، وهي موطن لمعبد السن ، الذي يحوي بقايا من أسنان الاله بوذا .

وتشمل المعالم الأخرى بالقرب من كاندي دار أيتام الفيلة في بيناويلا، حيث يمكنك تغذية صغار الفيلة برضاعة زجاجية وتشاهدها أثناء الاستحمام في النهر بالاضافة الى الحديقة النباتية الملكية في بيرادينيا و هي أكبر الحدائق في سري لانكا والأرقى في آسيا. مدينة كاندي أيضا بوابة إلى المرتفعات الوسطى في سريلانكا ، وتوفر فرص الرحلات في جميع الاتجاهات .

نوراليا

ترتفع نوراليا فوق مستوى البحر بألفي متر ،  وهي أعلى مدينة في البلاد و تعد المنتجع الجبلي المفضل في سري لانكا ، وتبعد حوالي 85 كم (2 ساعة بالسيارة) شرق كيتولغالا.

نواراليا هي صورة مثالية بمناظرها الخلابة من الشلالات والوديان والجبال و تتمتع نواراليا التي غالبا ما يشار إليها باسم ‘ انجلترا الصغرى ‘ بمناخ بارد لطيف مع العديد من البيوت القديمة الكبيرة والمباني ذات الطراز الإنجليزي من أيام الاستعمار ، كما أنها قلب صناعة الشاي في سري لانكا ، وسوف يكون المسافرون قادرين على زيارة مصانع الشاي والمزارع القريبة لمعرفة المزيد عن زراعة الشاي وعمليات التصنيع.

حديقة فيكتوريا من ضمن المعالم السياحية الأخرى التي يمكن مشاهدتها هنا و التي تعتبر مثالية لمشاهدة الطيور في سريلانكا و النزهات الترفيهية .  كما يمكن للسائحين زيارة موقع ” نهاية العالم ” – انخفاض عمودي بمقدار 870 متر- حينما يزورون حديقة هاكغالا النباتية وحديقة هورتون بلينز الوطنية . كما يوجد في نوارا إليا أيضا ملعب غولف من 18 حفرة ، وفرص للتنزه في القوارب في بحيرة غريغوري.

Excursions

Ideally situated halfway between Colombo and the Central Highlands/Nuwara Eliya, Palmstone Retreat is the perfect base to explore several important attractions in Sri Lanka such as Adam’s Peak, Kandy and Nuwara Eliya. The central location of Palmstone Retreat to these key attractions means that travellers can have an enriching experience of exploring several areas of the country, while enjoying the convenience of luxury accommodation.

Adam’s Peak

adamspeak

Situated approximately 60 km (1 hour drive) south of Kithugala, Adam’s Peak is a 2,243m high mountain that has religious significance to Buddhists, Hindus, Muslims and Christians. The giant footprint at the top of this holy mountain (locally referred to as Sri Pada) has been said to be the footprint of the Lord Buddha by Buddhists.

Around the 8th century, Muslims claimed it to be that of Prophet Adam who was said to have set his first foot here after banishment from heaven, while Hindus say the footprint was that of Lord Shiva. Centuries later, the Portuguese claimed it belonged to St Thomas. Thousands of devotees ascend Adam’s Peak between December and April every year as a religious pilgrimage in order to pay their respects to the sacred footprint.

For many travellers, a journey up Adam’s peak is the climax of their stay in Sri Lanka. The challenging climb of over 5000 rock hewn steps is best attempted at night, where you are guided by winding lights. The aim is to reach the top to witness the glorious sunrise, which is one of the finest sunrises in the region.

Kandy

kandy

The city of Kandy is situated approximately 75 km (1.5 hour drive) north of Kitulgala, and is another area that is worth visiting.

Kandy is the second largest city in Sri Lanka, and one of the most scenic cities in the island with gorgeous hills, tea plantations and spice gardens. It is also culturally, historically and religiously significant; it was the last capital of the ancient Sinhala kingdom prior to colonial rule, and is home to the Temple of the Tooth, which enshrines a relic of Lord Buddha’s tooth.

Other highlights near Kandy include the Pinnawela elephant orphanage, where you can bottle feed baby elephants and witness them taking a river bath, as well as the Royal Botanical Gardens in Peradeniya, which are the largest gardens in Sri Lanka and the finest in Asia. Kandy is also the gateway to the Central Highlands of Sri Lanka, and provides trekking opportunities at Knuckles Range.

Nuwara Eliya

Nuwara Eliya

This lovely hill resort of Sri Lanka is the highest town in the country, located 2000 m above sea level, and is approximately 85 km (2 hour drive) east of Kitulgala.

Nuwara Eliya is picture perfect, with scenic views of waterfalls, valleys and mountains. Often referred to as ‘Little England’, Nuwara Eliya enjoys a pleasant cool climate with several English style bungalows and buildings from colonial days. It is also the heart of the tea industry in Sri Lanka, and travellers will be able to visit tea factories and estates nearby to learn more about the tea growing and manufacturing processes.

Other attractions to see here include Victoria Park, which is ideal for bird watching in Sri Lanka and leisure strolls, Hakgala Botanical Gadens and Horton Plains National Park, where tourists can visit World’s End – a sheer precipe with a 870m drop. Nuwara Eliya also has a 18-hole golf course and boating opportunities on Lake Gregory.